jump to navigation

Compact Agreement


The Freely Associated States or FAS are the island nation states that were created as a direct result of the signing of the individual Compact of Free Association agreements or treaties between the United States Government and these island nations.

The nations included in the compact are; Republic of Palau(PAL), Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI), and the Federated States of Micronesia(FSM) which includes the states of Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrae.  The FAS does not include Guam and the Commonwealth of the Northern Marina Islands.  These areas are territories of the US.

Freely Associated States are recognized as sovereign states under the Compact agreement.  Their citizens are free to live and work in the US without Green Cards.  The Compact provides full responsibility of the FAS’s defense with the US and the basic relationship of the free association continues indefinitely.

In 2003, the Compacts between the RMI  and FSM were renewed for 20 years.  These new Compacts provide funding for both nations. It also changed certain immigration rules.  RMI and FSM citizens traveling to the US are now required to have passports. And the US Postal Service was given the option to apply international postage rates for mail between the U.S. and RMI/FSM (Phased in over five years) The renewed compact (commonly called Compact II) for FSM took effect on May 1, 2004 and RMI on June 30, 2004.  The Compact of Palau expires in 2009.

External links:

1986 Compact of Free Association between RMI and FSM

Pacific Islands Report:  Compact of Free Association Renegotiations (includes the test of 2003 RMI and FSM COFAs)

%d bloggers like this: